Drinking and Driving in Nevada? Be Prepared to Pay!
You don’t need us to tell you that drinking and driving is a bad idea. Even so, every year thousands of Nevadans are arrested for doing just that. In in many cases, these individuals face not only state fines and license suspensions, but also criminal charges (including jail time) and possibly civil suits brought by other parties involved in the accident. And those suits can cost you big-time.
Before you get behind the wheel, think twice about the repercussions of drinking and driving:
Involved in a Drinking and Driving Accident? Call us for a Consultation Today.
First-Time Offenders: The first time you’re caught drinking and driving you could face up to six months in jail or 96 hours of community service. Sure, you might not mind serving the community, but you’ll be dressed up in a uniform that identifies you as a DUI offender. You’ll also be required to attend an alcohol abuse education course. And, if your blood alcohol levels happen to be higher than .18, you’ll be placed in an alcohol treatment facility for up to one year.
A second drinking and driving offense only gets worse. If your second arrest is within seven years of your first conviction, you could face six months in jail or house arrest. Additionally, you’ll get tacked with a fat fine of up to $1,000 or be required some pretty extensive community service. Second-time offenders will be required to enter into an alcohol treatment facility.
If you’re a third-time offender, you’ve got a real problem. Your third offense gets you one to six years in prison, and a fine of up to $5,000. Not to mention that your license will be revoked for up to three years.
In some cases, judges will order an ignition lock on your vehicle, which requires a clean breathalyzer test in order to operate the vehicle. Commercial drivers will lose their ability to work for at least a year.
In addition to the ramifications listed above, if you happen to hurt someone while drinking and driving, you’re in for a world of hurt. A civil suit could hold you liable for a small fortune. So be on the safe side – drive sober or don’t drive at all.